HEA Advisory Group on Ending Sexual Violence and Harassment in Irish Higher Education Institutions

In April 2019, the Department of Education and Skills published *Safe, Respectful, Supportive and Positive – Ending Sexual Violence and Harassment in Irish Higher Education Institutions*, more commonly referred to as the Framework for Consent in Irish Higher Education Institutions. The primary focus of this framework is to address issues of sexual violence and harassment on Irish higher education campuses. In August 2020, the Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science, expanded the remit of the Higher Education Authority's Centre of Excellence for Gender Equality to cover Equality, Diversity and Inclusion and to include oversight of the implementation of the Framework for Consent.

An Advisory Group was established to advise the Higher Education Authority's Centre of Excellence for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion on policy relating to addressing sexual violence and harassment in Irish higher education institutions (HEIs), including but not limited to, the implementation of the Framework for Consent in Irish HEIs. The Advisory group provides advice to the HEA on issues relating to addressing sexual violence and harassment in Irish higher education institutions (HEIs) in relation to students, staff, postgraduate students and post-doctoral researchers. Further, it provides advice with respect to issues pertaining to survivors and survivor rights.

Current membership of the Advisory Group is as follows:

Aedín Minogue, Higher Education Authority (Secretariat)

Amanda McCloat, St. Angela's College, Sligo

Anna Bull, University of Portsmouth

Bernadette Quinn, Technological University Dublin

Somhairle Brennan, Union of Students in Ireland

Cliona Saidlear, Rape Crisis Network Ireland

Emer Cahill, Irish Research Council

Jennifer McCarthy Flynn, National Women's Council of Ireland

Louise Crowley, University College Cork

Marie Keenan, University College Dublin

Noeline Blackwell, Rape Crisis Centre Forum

Pádraig MacNeela, NUI Galway

Rochelle Fritch, Science Foundation Ireland

Róisín O'Connell, Technological Higher Education Association

Ross Woods, Higher Education Authority (Chair)

Sinéad Ring, Maynooth University

Siobhan Sleeman, Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science

Tom Clonan, Technological University Dublin

Tom Reilly, IT Sligo

Tony McMahon, Irish Universities Association