

To: Registered Pharmacy Professionals in the UK

Open Letter: UK Commission on Pharmacy Professional Leadership

We are delighted to announce that we have established a UK Commission on Pharmacy Professional Leadership across the four countries of England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales and we invite pharmacy professionals to take part in its deliberations to ensure their voice is heard. The Commission will meet up to four times during 2022 and will aim to report by the end of the year.

The Commission is co-chaired by Nigel Clarke, Former Chair of the General Pharmaceutical Council, and Professor Jane Dacre DBE, Professor of Medical Education, University College London Medical School, and will produce recommendations for the purpose and functions of future pharmacy professional leadership in the UK.

This inclusive UK-wide conversation, which will also involve other health professionals and patients, will seek to learn and determine how pharmacy professional leadership can be strengthened to support practising professionals, professional regulation and pharmacy professional representation to enable excellence in patient care.

Professional leadership has never been so important. There are significant changes impacting on the pharmacist and pharmacy technician professions and we need to ensure the professions are well equipped, with a voice to help shape the future, and enabled to develop through sharing and learning from best practice. In the very near future these changes include:

- Expanding clinical roles and greater professional autonomy for pharmacy professionals in the NHS.
- New initial education and training standards for pharmacists, which mean they will be independent prescribers from day one of registration from 2026.
- Regulatory and legislative changes that will impact on pharmacy professional practice.
- The potential of legislative changes to increase the contributions of pharmacy technicians to patient care and service delivery.
- The development and impact of data and technology on the delivery of health care.

Strong, effective and well-respected professional leadership, which represents the clinical voice of pharmacy professionals, is required to guide, support and enable these transformational changes so they benefit patients and professionals.

The Commission will seek to engage with pharmacy professionals across the UK through webinars held in each of the four countries, and it will establish working groups to consider key areas of focus including: leadership, policy and professionalism; regulatory support; professional education and training; regional, country and international relations; and scope of practice of future pharmacy professionals.

It will produce a blueprint for the purpose, role and functions necessary in inclusive professional pharmacy leadership and consider how that is best delivered in order to develop, support and continue to deliver excellence in patient care and professional practice, as expected by the heads of profession, professions, patients, NHS, employers, regulators and Governments.

We look forward to working with colleagues from across the four countries.

Nigel Clarke Former Chair General Pharmaceutical Council

Professor Jane Dacre DBE Professor of Medical Education University College London Medical School

Andrew M GS

Andrew Evans Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for Wales

Cathy Harrison Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for Northern Ireland

Alison Strath Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for Scotland

David Webb Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for England

Members of the UK Commission on Pharmacy Professional Leadership

Name	Position	Organisation
Co- Chairs:		
Nigel Clarke	Former Chair of the General Pharmaceutical Council	
Professor Jane Dacre DBE	Professor of Medical Education	University College London
UK Chief Pharmaceutical Officers:		
Andrew Evans OBE	Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for Wales	Welsh Government
Cathy Harrison	Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for Northern Ireland	Department of Health Northern Ireland
Alison Strath	Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for Scotland	Scottish Government
David Webb	Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for England	NHS England and NHS Improvement
Commission Members:		
Gisela Abbam	Chair	General Pharmaceutical Council
Professor Claire Anderson	President	Royal Pharmaceutical Society
Dr Catherine Duggan	Chief Executive	International Pharmaceutical Federation
Liz Fidler	Senior Professional Advisor: Pharmacy Technician Practice	NHS England and NHS Improvement
Christine Gilmour	Director of Pharmacy	NHS Lanarkshire
Julie Greenfield	Manager	Pharmacy Forum Northern Ireland
Professor Elizabeth Hughes MBE	Deputy Medical Director	Health Education England
Helen Kilminster	Vice-President	Primary Care Pharmacy Association
Dr Jim Livingstone	President	Pharmaceutical Society of Northern Ireland
Dr Raliat Onatade	Group Chief Pharmacist and Clinical Director for Medicines Optimisation	Barts Health NHS Trust
	Chief Pharmacist	North East London Integrated Care System
	Chief Pharmacist	North Thames Genomic Medicines Service Alliance
Dr Berwyn Owen	Chief Pharmacist and Clinical Director of Pharmacy	Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board
Professor Mahendra Patel OBE	Pharmacy and Inclusion and Diversity Lead,	University of Oxford

	PANORAMIC and PRINCIPLE Trials	
	Professional Advisor to the Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for England	NHS England and NHS Improvement
Priyanka Patel	President	British Pharmaceutical Students' Association
Mohamed Rahman	Chair	UK Clinical Pharmacy Association
Dr Keith Ridge CBE	Former Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for England	
Rahul Singal	Chief Pharmacist	North East London NHS Foundation Trust
Professor Ash Soni OBE	Vice President	International Pharmaceutical Federation
	Executive Member	National Association of Primary Care
	Non-Executive Director	Oxford University Foundation Trust
Claire Steele	President	Association of Pharmacy Technicians UK
Julia Tolan	Head of Pharmacy and Medicines Management	Northern Health and Social Care Trust